Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Home are Singapore Cup champions

RHB Singapore Cup 2011
Home United 1-0 Albirex Niigata (S)

Home United 
Lionel Lewis (GK), Kenji Arai, Juma'at Jantan, Valery Hiek, Rosman Sulaiman, Shi Jiayi (C), Isa Halim, Firdaus Idros (Qiu Li), Masrezwan Masturi (Yasir Hanapi), Frederic Mendy (Sufian Anuar), Sherif El-Masri

Home United won their fifth Singapore Cup and their first in 6 years as they defeated Albirex Niigata (S) 1-0 in the Final.

French forward Frederic Mendy got the winner in extra-time although the Protectors should have won it at the death in full time as they had the ball in the net.

But refereeLeow Thiam Hoe ruled there was a foul by Mendy before he netted the goal.

There was no denying the Frenchman who finally netted again in extra-time and this time the referee can find no reason to cancel it out.   

In the third/fourth place match, Etoile FC defeated Hougang United 3-0 to clinch third position for the second season in a row..

Ironically last season against Young Lions, Etoile FC also won by the same scoreline of 3-0.

It was Anthony Moulin who scored a brace with Stephane N'cho adding in one goal in between.

This time it wasKamel Chaaouane, Franklin Anzite and Theo Raymondwho got the goals.

Hougang United
Fadhil Salim (GK), Lau Meng Meng, Shahril Alias, Eddie Chang, Azhar Sairudin (Aqhari Abdullah), Jordan Webb (Sobrie Mazelan), Faizal Amir, Basit Hamid (Ratna Suffian), Carlos Delgado, Mamadou Diallo, Noor Ali (C)

No comments: