Saturday, April 10, 2010

South Melbourne apply for Singapore Cup spot

Four Four Two Australia have reported Victorian Premier League (An Aussie State League) side South Melbourne has apply for a Singapore Cup slot.

South Melbourne was a member of the, now defunct, National Soccer League (The previous Aussie professional league that precede A-league) and had won 4 championships - 1984, 1990/91, 1997/98, 1998/99 - as well as 5 regular season championships - 1984, 1985, 1992/93, 1997/98, 2000/01.

Along with that, they had reach another 7 National Soccer League Grand Final.

The club had try to enter the 2010/11 A-league but was, reportedly shockingly, rejected despite having a better professional setup and plan than their rival Melbourne Heart.

No comments: