Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Tigers make history with opening win

Balestier Khalsa has make history after recording their first ever win in the opening fixture after downing Sengkang Punggol 2-1 at Hougang with both goals from former Eagles forward Rivaldo Costa.

In the previous 7 years since their merger, the Toa Payoh club has never won their opening fixture - going down 3 times and drawing 4 times.

Sengkang Punggol though must be wondering how they fail to stop Balestier Khalsa from making history as they should have drawn; if not won their opening fixture.

But the number 1 rule in football is to put the ball in the net and that something the Dolphins is likely to miss (and I am speaking literally) this season as chance after chance, they fail to put to score in a game they totally dominate but for a brief 10 to 15 minutes.

That why they 'deserved' to lose.

However, the bright spot for coach Aide is that they played well and the Dolphins management have also kept their promises of improving the stadium facilities as it was clear the stadium lighting were much improved tonight and they had cleaned up the birdshit that litter the stadium seating (Due to the stadium design)

Along with that their clubhouse (or jackpot room) looked classic and a world apart from their old one so it should have attracted much attention.

A promising start for Sengkang in a season they are still likely to struggle and this include their foes tonight, Balestier Khalsa, unless the Toa Payoh team improved vastly.

Sengkang Punggol
Fadhil Salim, (Farizal Basri) Sobrie Mazelan, (Ashley Ow) Lau Meng Meng (C), (R Sivaneswaran) Abdoulaye Diallo, Shahir Hamzah, Jordan Webb, Faizal Amir, Duncan Elias, Jalal, Murphy Wiredu, Moussa Keita

Balestier Khalsa

Ahmadulhaq Che Omar, Sofiyan Abdul Hamid, Paul Cunningham, Daniel Hammond (C), K Sathiaraj, Ishak Zainol, (Syaqir Sulaiman) Nurhilmi Jasni, Anantha Rajan, Poh Yi Feng, (Syafiq Zainal) Vitor Borges, (Han Yiguang) Rivaldo Costa

No comments: