Monday, December 23, 2013

Down to last game for second

It will be down to last game as Albirex Niigata (S) down newly-crown Tampines Rovers 3-1 at Jalan Besar.

With Home United having a five-point lead over the Japanese side, they had to win or else it was all over and that is what the White Swans did as Itsuki Yamada,Kazuki Sakamoto and Bruno Castanheira gave them an unassailable 3-0 lead before Jamil Ali got one goal back for Tampines.

So it is in the hands of Albirex as they meet Home at Bishan 3 days later to decide who finished second.

At the same time, Warriors FC failed to close off top place in the second-tier playoff as they fall 1-2 to Courts Young Lions and it gave the Jalan Besar team the chance to avoid a fine for not winning enough points.

The Cubs now have 15 points in the league and they need 17 points and they can get in theirlast game against Hougang United with a win.

Muhammad Salim and Shamil Sharif got the goals for the Cubs with Dharham Aziz scoring for the Warriors.

It opened the way for Brunei DPMM as they drew 2-2 with Harimau Muda and it allowed the Brunei side to draw level with Warriors FC at the top in the second-tier playoff but with an inferior goal difference of -5.

So they need to defeat Geylang International in their last game and even then it may not be enough.

Asyraf Talib and Akmal Ishak scored for the Malaysians while Rosmin Kamis and Rodrigo Antonio Tosi got the goals for the Brunei side.

Courts Young Lions
Syazwan Buhari (GK), Nicholas Cher, Al-Qaasimy Rahman, Sheikh Abdul Hadi, Raihan Rahman (C), Anumanthan Kumar (Afiq Yunos 27'), Shamil Sharif, Fareez Farhan (Nur Ridho 46'), Iqbal Hamid Hussain, Muhaymin Salim (Sahil Suhaimi 52'), Sherif El-Masri

Warriors FC
Hassan Sunny (GK), Zulfadli Zainal Abidin, Kazuyuki Toda, Abdil Qaiyyim (Jeremy Chiang 70'), Marin Vidosevic, Daniel Bennett (C), Shukor Zailan, Dharham Aziz (Shi Jiayi 74'), Mislav Karoglan, Sufian Anuar, Prakash Manikam (Sadiq Sanusi 64')


Tampines Rovers
Andre Martins (GK), Jufri Taha, Kunihiro Yamashita, Diogo Caramelo (Aleksandar Duric 46'), Vitor Ladeiras (Jamil Ali 60'), Anaz Hadee, Shaiful Esah, Ismadi Mukhtar (Imran Sahib 69'), Shahdan Sulaiman (C), Firdaus Kasman, Khairul Amri

No comments: