Sunday, December 8, 2013

Tampines are champions despite defeat

Tampines Rovers have won the 2013 S-league championship despite going down to Home United 2-0 at Bishan.

This was a result of Albirex Niigata (S) losing their home match against Balestier Khalsa 1-2 and now mathematically it is impossible to catch Tampines Rovers, no matter what.

Lee Kwan Woo's, who came off the bench, double against the Champions meant Home United are in second spot ahead of Albirex Niigata (S).

As for the White Swans, their bad run where they have just won 1 game in 2 months come to pay as they dropped to third with yet another defeat with Qiu Li and Park Kang Jin goals giving the Tigers all 3 points.

Kento Nagasaki got Albirex goal.

3 days later, Albirex Niigata (S) got back their second spot, but Home have a game in hand, after they defeated Woodlands Wellington 3-1.

It was all over in the first period with goals from Bruno Castanheira,Sato Masatake and Kazuya Fukuzaki.

Ang Zhiwei scored in the second period for the Rams.

In another match, Warriors FC opened up a 4 points gap at the top of second tier playoff league with a 3-2 win against DPMM Brunei.

The Bruneian side had opened the second playoff with 2 wins and looked to have the monument to go for the kill against Warriors who had only collected 1 point so far but the script was not followed as goals from Mislav Karoglan, Hafsyar Farkhan and Shukor Zailan saw the Choa Chu Kang side retained the points at home.

Goals from Shah Razen Said and an own goal did give DPMM some hopes but it was not enough.

With only 2 games left now, it appeared Warriors FC may have done enough to win the second tier playoff league.

Balestier Khalsa

Zaiful Nizam (GK), Paul Cunningham (C), Tengku Mushadad, Ruhaizad Ismail (Ridwan Jamil 56'), Kim Minho, Park Kang Jin (Vitor Borges 79'), Poh Yi Feng, Syed Thaha, Obadin Aikhena, Qiu Li (Shafuan Sutohmoh 79'), Zulkiffli Hassim


Home United
Shahril Jantan (GK), Sofiyan Abdul Hamid (Sevki Sha'ban 55'), Juma'at Jantan, Noh Rahman (C) (Lee Kwan Woo 46'), Ismail Yunos, Kwon Dakyung, Hafiz Rahim, Jordan Webb, Firdaus Idros, Masrezwan Masturi (Nor Azli Yusoff 62'), Song Uiyoung

Tampines Rovers
Andre Martins (GK), Jufri Taha, Kunihiro Yamashita, Shaiful Esah, Seiji Kaneko, Fahrudin Mustafic (C) (Firdaus Kasman 62'), Shahdan Sulaiman, Imran Sahib (Diogo Caramelo 78'), Jamil Ali, Aleksandar Duric, Khairul Amri (Vitor Ladeiras 65')


Woodlands Wellington
Yazid Yasin (GK), Cho Sunghwan, Shahril Alias (C), Shariff Samat, Rosman Sulaiman, Farouq Farkhan (Fadhil Noh 52'), Theerawekin Seehawong (Goh Swee Swee 83'), Atsushi Shimono, Ang Zhiwei (Taufiq Rahmat 75'), Chang Jo Yoon, Moon Soonho


Warriors FC
Hassan Sunny (GK), Zulfadli Zainal Abidin (Syaiful Iskandar 75'), Kazuyuki Toda, Abdil Qaiyyim, Jeremy Chiang, Matthew Abraham (Dharham Aziz 59'), Shukor Zailan, Mislav Karoglan, Marin Vidosevic (C), Erwan Gunawan (Nicholas Cher 81'), Hafsyar Farkhan

No comments: