Monday, December 23, 2013

Warriors win second-tier playoff league

Warriors FC have won the second-tier playoff league even as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Hariman Muda.

With them level on points with Brunei DPMM but with a superior goal difference, they only had to match the Brunei club result and that is what happen as Brunei DPMM also failed to register a win.

DPMM could only draw 2-2 with Geylang International as the Bedok club came back from two goals down.

Goals from Brazilian Rodrigo Antonio Tosi and Brunei ace forward Shahrazen Said appeared enough for the Brunei to win the game and the second-tier playoff league but Eagles skipper Jozef Kaplan sparked a comeback with a goal on the hour mark.

The Eagles pile on the pressure after that and with a little bit of fortune, in injury time, they were rewarded as Yasir Hanapi's stoppage time shot ping-ponged around the penalty box before it was snuck over the line after cannoning off the underside of the bar and was credited to Stefan Milojevic.

That result meant the Warriors never needed to win and it was fortunate as they had given away a winning position after Mislav Karoglan gave them the lead before Akmal Ishak snatch a share of the point with a late goal.

It was also a happy day for Courts Young Lions as they avoided a fine of $50k after they beat Hougang 2-0 to gather enough points on the table even as they finished with the Wooden Spoon this season.

Iqbal Hamid Hussain and Nur Naiim Ishak got the goals for the Cubs.

Warriors FC
Hassan Sunny (GK), Kazuyuki Toda, Abdil Qaiyyim (Matthew Abraham 68'), Marin Vidosevic, Jeremy Chiang (Syaiful Iskandar 78'), Daniel Bennett (C), Shukor Zailan (Shi Jiayi 68'), Mislav Karoglan, Sufian Anuar, Hafsyar Farkhan, Nicholas Cher


Courts Young Lions
Syazwan Buhari (GK), Al-Qaasimy Rahman, Afiq Yunos, Nicholas Cher, Sheikh Abdul Hadi, Raihan Rahman (C), Stanely Ng (Fareez Farhan 79'), Nur Naiim Ishak (Muhaymin Salim 89'), Iqbal Hamid Hussain, Sahil Suhaimi, Samuel Benjamin (Nur Ridho 66')

Hougang United
Fadhil Salim (GK), Syaqir Sulaiman (Fairoz Hasan 35'), Lau Meng Meng (C), Thomas Beattie, Azhar Sairudin, Jerome Baker (Liam Shotton 78'), Fazli Jaffar (Hasree Zais 46'), Faizal Amir, Fazly Hasan, Nurhilmi Jasni, Mamadou Diallo


Geylang International

Takuma Ito (GK), Delwinder Singh, Duncan Elias (Shah Hirul 77'), Norihiro Kawakami, Yasir Hanapi, Stefan Milojevic, Noor Ali, Jozef Kaplan (C), Nurhazwan Norasikin, Taufiq Ghani (Asshidiq Wahid 69'), Andrew Tan

No comments: