Thursday, May 9, 2013

Albirex return to second as inconsistent Jaguars falter

If there was a reason why Tampines Rovers coach Nenad Bacina continue to feel the title was their to lose even after their defeat to Tanjong Pagar United, the reason can be found as the team who defeated them will go on to falter themselves just one game later.

On a night when a win will close the lead at the top to one point by the Jaguars, the Queenstown club will go on to fall 1-2 to Balestier Khalsa at Toa Poyah with goals from Ruhaizad Ismail and Qiu Li while Kamel Ramdani reply for the Jaguars.

No doubt the physical approach by the Tigers does not help matter but if one want to be champions they will have to deal with such matters.

It is clear Tanjong Pagar United are not ready to challenge as yet and it may e the case as well for now second-placed Albirex Niigata (S) even as they recorded their second win in a row after defeating Harimau Muda 1-0 thanks to a goal Bruno Castanheira.

The fact is the White Swans are second now thanks to their opening start which saw them win five in a row before going on to record only 2 points from their next 4 games.

The teams below Tampines are just too inconsistent for even Home United who recovered from their disaster start to climb to top 4, after recording a 3-0 over Woodlands Wellington on Monday, have not been able to string any results together.

Lee Kwan Woo and a brace from Sirina Camara got the goals for the Protectors in the win against the Rams.

In one other game, Hougang beat Courts Young Lions 1-0 with a goal from Mamadou Diallo.

Woodlands Wellington
Yazid Yasin (GK), Cho Sung-hwan, Hidhir Hasbiallah (Taufiq Rahmat 63'), Shahril Alias, Atsushi Shimono, Ang Zhiwei, Armanizam Dolah (C) (Ridhwan Osman 77'), Farizal Basri (Fadhil Noh 75'), Chang Jo-yoon, Moon Soon-ho, Khalid Hamdaoui

Home United
Shahril Jantan (GK), Noh Rahman (C), Sirina Camara, Hafiz Rahim, Jordan Webb, Lee Kwan Woo (Sofiyan Abdul Hamid 67'), Masrezwan Masturi, Nor Azli Yusoff, Fukui Masato (Haziq Azman 80'), Indra Sahdan (Firdaus Idros 46'), Song Ui Young


Hougang United
Fadhil Salim (GK),  Lau Meng Meng (C), Thomas Beattie, Jeremy Chiang (Syaqir Sulaiman 57'), Shahir Hamzah, Azhar Sairudin, Fazli Jaffar, Faizal Amir, Nurhilmi Jasni (Sobrie Mazelan 79'), Mamadou Diallo, Liam Shotton (Fairoz Hasan 79')

Courts Young Lions
Syazwan Buhari (GK), Al-Qaasimy Rahman, Afiq Yunos, Sheikh Abdul Hadi, Raihan Rahman (C), Anumanthan Kumar, Stanely Ng (Afiq Noor 64'), Fareez Farhan, Farhan Rahmat, Iqbal Hamid Hussain (Nur Ridho 82'), Sherif El-Masri


Balestier Khalsa
Zaiful Nizam (GK), Paul Cunningham (C) (Qiu Li 60'), Jaslee Hatta, Ridwan Jamil, Ruhaizad Ismail (Yusiskandar Yusop 82'), Kim Min-ho (Zulkiffli Hassim 38'), Park Kang-jin, Poh Yi Feng, Obadin Aikhena, Syed Thaha, Jung Hee-bong

Tanjong Pagar United
Aurelien Herisson (GK), Anthony Aymard (Hafiz Nor 27'), Hanafi Salleh, Zahid Ahmad, Asraf Rashid (Shamsudin Hashim 55'), Ahmad Latiff (C), Kamel Ramdani, Sazali Salleh, K Vikraman, Ismael Benahmed (Rizawan Abdullah 82'), Monsef Zerka

No comments: