Sunday, April 21, 2013

Tampines take giant step

Tampines Rovers have taken a giant step towards their fifth S-league title even at this early stage of the season as they defeated third-placed Albirex Niigata (S) to open up a four-point gap.

The Champions also have a game in hand over their rivals.

With the Stags having dropped their first points in their last game, they were in mood to repeat it as Sead Hadzibulic gave them the lead before Albirex forward Bruno Castanheira grabbed the equaliser before half-time.

On the hour mark, Khairul Amri, who was the hero in the last game as he rescued a point, did it again ashe gave the Stags back the lead again and this time, the Champions did not lose it.

With that, it extended Albirex win-less streak to 4 games and gave the Champions a healthy lead at the top now.

In other matches, Woodlands Wellington drew 0-0 with Geylang International while DPMM Brunei secured a 1-0 win over Balestier Khalsa.

The Brunei side coach Vjeran Simunic who had an outburst in their last game, appeared to have won the physiological battle with at least a assistant referee who flagged the Balestier side time and time again

And it proved crucial as he ruled out a good goal by Qiu Li late in the game that have won the Toa Poyah side a point after an own goal in the first half.

Indeed even the referee over ruled that assistant in the end as he allowed the Tigers a throw in which the assistant gave away.

What Stewart would have say if FAS allowed the same freedom of expression to local clubs coaches.

Woodlands Wellington
Yazid Yasin (GK), Cho Sung-hwan, Shariff Samat, Shahril Alias, Ang Zhiwei (Goh Swee Swee 79'), Armanizam Dolah, Atsushi Shimono, Hidhir Hasbiallah (Taufiq Rahmat 61'), Chang Jo-yoon, Moon Soon-ho, Khalid Hamdaoui (Ridhwan Osman 90')

Geylang International
Takuma Ito (GK), Khairulnizam Jumahat (Stefan Milojevic 64'), Khayrulhayat Jumat, Norihiro Kawakami, Jalal, Yasir Hanapi (Delwinder Singh 76'), Fabian Kwok, Taufiq Ghani, Andrew Tan (Nurhazwan Norasikin 46'), Wahyudi Wahid, Jozef Kaplan


Balestier Khalsa
Zaiful Nizam (GK), Poh Yi Feng (Yusiskandar Yusop 81'), Obadin Aikhena, Tengku Mushadad, Syed Thaha, Kim Min-ho (Zulkiffli Hassim 46'), Ridwan Jamil, Park Kang-jin, Hamqaamal Shah (Patrick Paran 46'), Jung Hee-bong, Qiu Li


Tampines Rovers
Sasa Dreven (GK), Jufri Taha, Shaiful Esah, Seiji Kaneko (Anaz Hadee 62'), Fahrudin Mustafic, Imran Sahib, Firdaus Kasman, Aleksandar Duric, Sead Hadzibulic, Khairul Amri (Shahdan Sulaiman 88'), Martin Wagner

No comments: